Only the judge can decide this 👩⚖️
To have a better chance at winning, it is very important your evidence is organized and you are prepared to tell your side of the story to the judge. We help you prepare for the hearing by creating an organized evidence packet for you!
People Clerk is your small claims assistant. We have an simple 5-step process:
Read what our customers are saying about us on Trustpilot :)
Yes, small claims courts are open!
Some counties have virtual hearings and some have in person hearings.
Of course! We are a mission driven company with a goal of getting everyone their day in court.
P.S. You don't have to pay court fees and serving with the sheriff is free if you qualify for a fee waiver!
An individual can sue for up to $10,000.
A corporation or LLC can sue for up to $5,000.
Each lawsuit is different. Don't wait to file your lawsuit, most statute of limitations are for 2 years. Read more here.
Most California counties have the option for virtual hearings. Contact us to learn more!
We are not a lawyer or a law firm. We are an affordable way to resolve your small claims dispute and get justice.
Fun fact: Lawyers are not allowed to represent clients in California small claims court at the initial small claims hearing. If you need a lawyer, we can help connect you with one!
So long as there isn't another court that is more specific to your lawsuit (for example, eviction court), then the lawsuit can be filed in small claims.
The most common types of small claims lawsuits in California are:
Without the correct address, we may not be able to serve the lawsuit later on.
How to find the other person's address:
Your lawsuit can always be filed in the county where the person you are suing lives or where the business is located.
Here are some other examples:
- Security deposit lawsuits can be filed in the county where the unit was rented.
- Car accident lawsuits can be filed in the county where the accident occured.
- Property damage lawsuits can be filed in the county where the damage occurred.
No, lawyers are not allowed at the initial small claims hearing.
No, only you can represent yourself at the initial small claims hearing.
There are a few exceptions for businesses (employees of the business can represent the business) and spouses.
Most hearings are scheduled within 30-70 days. With COVID-19, they are taking a bit longer.
Most hearings are informal and last 15 minutes. Learn more here.
Yes, these are called countersuits. Both lawsuits will be reviewed by the same judge on the same day.
Yes, we help you with 3 options:
(1) we hire a process server for you,
(2) we work with the sheriff (not available in all counties),
(3) we work with one of your friends to serve the lawsuit.
*Note, in some counties the court clerk can serve using certified mail but it is not recommended. Many counties have discontinued this service as it doesn't work 95% of the time.
Need to reach us? Schedule a call with us here! You can also click our chat on the bottom right hand corner of your screen. Our chat is powered by humans!